Energy Cities: promoting sustainable urban planning

Energy Cities logo

Energy Cities is a network of towns and cities committed to accelerating the clean energy transition. Through uniting local authorities across the world, the non-profit organisation looks to provide a platform for dialogue between citizens, local leaders and EU institutions.

About Energy Cities

First established in 1990 and today representing over 1,000 municipalities across 30 different countries, Energy Cities contributes to European Union energy policies through its promotion of locally-driven sustainable urban planning initiatives.

As members of the Energy Cities network, local authorities are able to play their part in the energy transition to renewable sources by sharing resources, experience and best practice on the international stage, with the aim of providing a sustainable future for generations to come.

Through its advocacy work over the past 30 years, Energy Cities has become recognised in Brussels for its expertise in the fields of energy efficiency, renewables, climate mitigation and regional policies.

Today it is also leader of the Covenant of Mayors for Climate Change and Energy, with signatories pledging to reduce CO2 emissions by at least 40% by 2030 and adopt an integrated approach to tackling climate change.

Landmarks and milestones

2020: Energy Cities celebrates its 30th anniversary

2013: Salé, Morrocco becomes the first African city to join the network

2009: Covenant of Mayors initiative launched

2006: Christchurch City Council, New Zealand joins Energy Cities

2005: Member city Kaunas, Lithuania becomes first Baltic and Eastern European municipality to receive the European Energy Award.

2003: European Display Campaign launched to introduce uniform certification for the energy performance of non-residential buildings.

2001: Launch of the REST (Renewable Energy and Sustainable Tourism) project to lower carbon dioxide emissions of buildings within the hotel and guesthouse sector.

1999: Brussels office opens.

1996: Member city Växjö, Sweden votes to become a zero fossil fuel city within 15 years, while Freiburg, Germany opens its first eco-district in the neighbourhood of Vauban.

1995: First Energy Cities Annual Conference takes place in the city of Heidelberg, Germany.

1994: Energy Cities Charter created and adopted by 16 city members in Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom.

1990: Energy Cities first established as a loose association of European local authorities.

Members and board of directors

Energy Cities draws its members from over 1,000 towns and cities across the globe, bringing together frontrunners in the renewable energy transition with city officials and technical experts worldwide.

The German City of Heidelberg currently holds the presidency of the Energy Cities network and its board of directors is made up of the following 11 members:

  • Mustafa İduğ, Mayor of Bornova (Turkey)
  • Alan Coleman, Deputy Mayor of Cork County (Ireland)
  • Stephan Brandligt, Deputy Mayor of Delft (The Netherlands)
  • Eckart Würzner, Lord Mayor of Heidelberg (Germany)
  • Willy Demeyer, Mayor of Liège (Belgium)
  • Pete Marland, Mayor of Milton Keynes (United Kingdom)
  • Allesandra Filippi, Deputy Mayor of Modena (Italy)
  • Célia Blauel, Deputy Mayor of Paris (France)
  • Olga Veidina, Deputy Mayor of Riga (Latvia)
  • Peter Brocka, Mayor of Trnava (Slovakia)
  • Bo Frank, President of the Council, Växjö (Sweden)

Becoming a member

To become an Energy Cities member, you must either be or represent one of the following:

  • A local authority (city, county or region)
  • An inter-municipal structure or a group of municipalities (metropolis or conurbation authority)
  • A local energy management agency
  • A municipal company
  • A regional or national association of municipalities

By joining Energy Cities, authorities get access to EU funding and are invited to participate in study tours to pioneer cities, conferences, webinars and workshops with local communities and energy and climate experts. Prospective Energy Cities members must demonstrate they are committed to:

  • Making energy efficiency, renewables and sustainable urban planning a vital part of local policy.
  • Contributing to discussions on European legislation and decisions.
  • Sharing experience, ideas and knowledge and providing support to other members upon request.
  • Showcasing Energy Cities’ actions on the local authority’s website, at relevant events, and in energy and climate communication materials.

How to join

  1. Download a membership pack online and present it to your local government authorities.
  2. Await approval from your local council.
  3. Send the signed member forms together with a resolution of the town or city council.
  4. Once approved membership is approved, a dedicated Energy Cities contact will arrange an introduction meeting.

Membership fees

Annual membership fees are set depending on the population of the local town or city. There is a reduced rate for new EU Member States and countries outside the EU.

Energy Cities membership fees
Population Standard annual fee Reduced annual fee
Less than 100,000 €1,250 €625
Less than 100,000 €1,250 €625
100,000-300,000 €2,500 €1,250
300,000-500,000 €3,750 €1,875
More than 500,000 €5,000 €2,500
Updated on