Selectra UK works with this energy provider.

British Gas
About, Reviews, Tariffs & Cheapest Deals

Providing gas and electricity to about 12 million households in the United Kingdom, British Gas is the nation’s largest energy provider.

See more See less
1.7 /5 from 21 votes
How are reviews verified?

In order to guarantee the authenticity of reviews published on this page, we check each entry before publication. To do this, we ask you to provide your name and email address. This data is kept in our database in order to contact you in case there is doubt over the authenticity of the review and will not be used for commercial purposes. In addition, each review is subject to our moderation rules.

5
10%
4
10%
3
0%
2
0%
1
81%

British Gas Reviews 2021: Satisfied customers?

1.7 /5 from 21 votes
How are reviews verified?

In order to guarantee the authenticity of reviews published on this page, we check each entry before publication. To do this, we ask you to provide your name and email address. This data is kept in our database in order to contact you in case there is doubt over the authenticity of the review and will not be used for commercial purposes. In addition, each review is subject to our moderation rules.


5
10%
4
10%
3
0%
2
0%
1
81%

Most useful comments

08/09/2021

I had a smart meter fitted today. The engineer was very professional and helpful. I'm a bit disappointed that British gas don't have a feedback to let them know what amazing engineers they have.

See more See less
11/11/2021

The worst energy company in the UK that I have ever encountered. I am 71 years of age. With an appalling call centre in South Africa, if that is you can ever get through to them. They are, in my opinion, a greedy disgrace.

See more See less

All comments

11/11/2021

The worst energy company in the UK that I have ever encountered. I am 71 years of age. With an appalling call centre in South Africa, if that is you can ever get through to them. They are, in my opinion, a greedy disgrace.

See more See less
11/08/2021

DIABOLLICALLY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE. I was switched to British Gas because previous electricity supplier PFP Energy went bust. Since the date of the switchover on 02/11/21 our economy 7 heating has not come on. Freezing cold house for over a week and no resolution in prospect. Due to a number of medical conditions my partner is considered to be extremely vulnerable. So far have made 4 separate phone calls to BG customer service totalling 4.5 hours. I have been lied to , fobbed off , and cut off. These people are totally incompetent. With the last phone call , i thought i was actually getting somewhere and an engineer visit was arranged for today - he never turned up !!! Their online live chat does'nt work. Their online complaints form does'nt work. There complaints email address is'nt monitored !!! Have tried contacting them through Twitter - as yet no satisfactory reply. How can a company the size of British Gas be SO BAD ?

See more See less
11/02/2021

Awful experience. Engineer came to service boiler, he incompetently FLOODED THE HOUSE with water leaking through the ceiling lights. He said he would call on Monday to discuss, he didn't. Didn't leave any paperwork for the service. Called customer service, they didn't know the engineer had messed up. Finally agreed to send an electrician to check our wet electrics a week later. I asked for paperwork 3 times, still not received it. Asked for another service as we don't know what has been done and no confidence in the first engineer. This was flatly refused, very poor customer service and gas engineer was very poor. Boiler service was overdue as they wouldn't let me book it for 2 months initially. Tried to charge us for electrician visit to fix their problem. They still haven't paid out for the lost time, damaged roof damaged tiles or kitchen units, this could take months. They haven't even offered a refund or someone to fix the damage. Seriously very badly handled and not worth the money. Other companies are cheaper and offer much, much better customer service. AVOID!

See more See less
10/13/2021

I moved into a property on the 27 th of sept after 2 weeks I still haven't had any hot water or heating my landlord couldn't uncap the system till British gas had sorted a supply it was on Key meters I requested paypoint card system as it was easier to manage as no shops near me dealt with British gas wen I eventually was told my card would work I activated it went and topped it up at a post office but it wouldn't register o rang customer services 3 times twice they sent me a txt message I went to a shop to be told I need a code off them not just a txt so again I rang them told to go to another shop had the same txt sent the shop keeper at a different shop said the same as the first shop only to be told by a yet again by customer services go to another shop which I refused as they needed a code on 3 acassions I asked to have pre paid paypoint metres in everytime I was told it was being sorted to find out it wasn't by any of them total bunch of incompetent gormless morons you would get more sense out of a drunk teletubbie than these fools then I was told if I had prepaid meteres in I would have to have a smart meter in I said what if I don't want a smart meter I was told I could tell them the following day to take it out what's the point of putting it in then hopefully Friday which I very much doubt will happen they are coming to change my meters to prepaid to have a smart meter which they are then getting rid of if this isn't like watching a bunch of incompetent clowns at a circus I don't know what is as I've lost the money I've topped up as it was costing more running round following their instructions at shops that didn't work all I can say is by the the weekend I will need a big beer then after then by Monday it will be good bye British gas hello e company my stress levels will be back to normal as they aren't now total bunch of brain dead morons just a shame it wasn't these that went bust

See more See less
09/09/2021

I rarely complain but this company has honestly been the worst I have ever encountered. They billed me for something that actually I already paid. When I tried to contact them about it back in July they said they would deal with it and indeed it was their mistake. Then I received a text message weeks later saying I did not pay a bill and it will go to debt collection. I then phoned them again on top of writing on their live chat with an agent. I was then told they apologised and see will be fixed right away. Today I have received again same message with the debt collection and on live chat they made me wait 3 hours on chat and passed me to 7 'specialists' to then ignore my messages. This has honestly been the worst customer service and overhaul worst company I have ever dealt with. Thank god I do not treat my clients this way!!

See more See less

09/08/2021

Terrible company who just pluck bills out of thin air. Also they pay staff to put good reviews on other websites. Total scammers who should be closed down

See more See less